If You Are

If you are the night’s sky, I am the distant star.

If you are the mighty mountain, I am the chiseled rock.

If you are the long winter, I am the flake of snow.

If you are the raging river, I am the flooded shore.

 

If you are the lush forest, I am the seed of faith.

If you are the promise, I am she who waits.

If you’re the vibrant sunset, I’m the breath that is held.

If you’re the destination, I’m the tentative step.

 

If you are the orchard at harvest, I am the ripening plum.

If you are the safe haven, I’m the refugee who comes.

If you are forever, I’ll release the hands of the clock.

When yours is the heart that is broken, I’ll be the tear that drops.

 

Note: This poem was inspired by Octavio Paz’s “Motion” as translated by Eliot Weinberger.

 

Leave a Reply

