My Eulogy for Grandma C

Grandma C in her younger years.

Grandma C in her younger years.

Good afternoon. My name is AG—some of you know me as D. I am J’s eldest granddaughter. I speak on behalf of my father, brother, and sister. They wanted to be here as well, but were unable to make the trip.

JHC was born here in Grenada on Tuesday, August 8, 1922, to JC and TC. She was one of six siblings. J had one daughter, SFra (born SFri), who, sadly, predeceased her in September of 2001.

Some of you here knew JHC as Tante Mammitz, but to me she was Grandma C, or just Grandma. For most of my childhood, she lived next door to us in Brooklyn, New York. In addition to my parents, she helped lay the foundation for my faith in God. She is the first person I remember bringing me to church. Every Saturday morning we would put on our best clothes and attend service at Hanson Place Seventh-day Adventist Church, where she was a devoted member and deaconess.

I have many fond memories of sleeping over in her apartment on weekends; staying up late with her to watch television; and eating the Rice Krispies treats she was always willing to make for me. Every night before we went to bed she’d read a Bible story to me, we’d sing a song together like “Jesus Loves the Little Children,” say a prayer, and then go to sleep. In the morning, she’d open her great, big Bible and read a passage with me.

A number of years later, she moved in to live with us. Our bedrooms were next door to each other, and so we shared a lot of quality time together. Every weeknight other than Friday we’d watch Jeopardy. It was one of her favorite shows. We’d also play a lot of Scrabble. She could play that game for hours, and she was very good at it. Of all the things Grandma and I did together, it was playing Scrabble with her that I enjoyed most.

While my mother (her daughter), S, was alive, she and Grandma C were very close. They were more than mother and daughter; they were best friends—giving each other deep emotional and spiritual support. Two women who loved God above all else. Two women whose great faith I admired and respected.

Grandma C was a loving and tender grandmother. It was her pleasure to lavish love upon C, A, and me. She was always there for us, taking an active interest in our lives and attending school functions and dance recitals. She was always ready to listen, gave sage advice, and was full of affection for us—always offering up warm kisses and hugs.

Grandma C was a humble woman of faith. Even though she’d travelled to the farthest corners of the world, she was content to live a very simple and modest life. She could make her home anywhere comfortably. She was a woman of great intelligence and integrity, kind, and completely devoid of vanity. She also loved animals, and spoiled our pets as much as (if not more than) she spoiled us.

In her later years, Grandma C returned to Grenada and her little blue house in Springs. She had originally planned to stay for three months, but once here, she couldn’t bring herself to leave again. Unfortunately, her health began to decline. She had to depend on the kindness and generosity of others for her well-being. Some of those who selflessly cared for her are here today, and I would like to thank each of them for their compassionate actions towards my grandmother.

On the morning of Monday, September 23, 2013, JHC died in the country of her birth. It is the very same date on which her daughter passed away exactly twelve years earlier—and remarkably close to the same time of day. It comforts me to know that they are reunited for eternity, basking in the presence of the Lord.

In her death, J leaves behind her three grandchildren, her son-in-law, her nieces and nephews, extended family, and good friends. She was greatly loved, and she will be greatly missed as well.

Grandma C at my high school graduation

Grandma C at my high school graduation

The little blue house in Springs. (It's about the size of a small studio apartment in New York City.)

The little blue house in Springs. (It’s about the size of a small studio apartment in New York City.)

3 thoughts on “My Eulogy for Grandma C

  1. Pingback: Hello & Goodbye | Write Away

  2. Pingback: Saturdays with Grandma | Write Away

Leave a Reply

